Oburoni in Ghana

With my official start day delayed until Friday, I had the opportunity on Friday to accompany WUSC and my new friend and Leave for Change co-volunteer Stephanie to her assignment in Somanya, Eastern Region, Ghana.  I appreciated the invite and the opportunity to see a side of Ghana during my short stay. 

The Eastern Region gave birth to Ghana’s cocoa industry, of which you may know Ghana is the second leading producer in the world.   My family can expect me to return with some cocoa! I am told Somanya is Ghana’s largest producer of mangos as evident from the piles of mangoes at stalls along the road as well as the numberous plantations we passed along the road.  The mangoes hang from their trees on vines and I should mention that these are not like the mangoes we see in Canada, they are much larger and one could be a meal for a few people. 

The drive took us into the hills north of Accra and through a number of villages.  These were the first villages where I saw this type of building, 

After visiting Mt Mary Catholic Demonstration Schools where Stephanie would be working, we ventured into town to drop her at her hotel before heading back to Accra.  While at the hotel, a marching band of local children could be seen parading down the side street near the hotel when the leader who was playing a bucket drum suddenly stopped to stare at us.  His band followed his lead.  And so, what is Oburoni to do…except to also stop what we are doing and wave.  He waved his tree-branch drumstick wildly and smiled his broad white smile.  He band again followed his lead.  We replied with equal enthusiam.  Satisfied, their leader returned to his marching band drumming and they proceeded on their way, still smiling.  Another moment towards international cooperation and world peace.  There is a lot to be learned from the children of the world.

Your friend,  Oburoni  🙂

6 thoughts on “Oburoni in Ghana

  1. Wonderful story. The children of today will someday be our leaders and yes, there is so much we can learn from them. World peace, I wonder what that would look like? We can only dream for now.

    • hi Sarah,
      Obronie is twi for “white person” or “stranger” and it is a common greeting one will receive in Ghana because people do not know my name but want to say hello so they will call “Obronie!”. Sometimes I will reply in twi (which makes them chuckle), sometimes I will wave and smile, other times I will say Hi, or good evening. Stephen is well and passes along his good wishes!
      Maureen

Leave a Reply

