Learn a language

Learn a language?  Sure.  In two weeks, hmmmm, actually, why not! At least enough to be polite and say that you only know a little of the language!

In Ghana, there are over 106 languages, all with multiple dialects…that’s a lot to learn!

At the intercultural training, my new friend Ernest (originally from Ghana) was teaching me a little bit of the two dominant language, it became clear to me that this would take more than the time we had.  I repeated the phrases and I thank Ernest for not laughing at me as I got bits of it horribly wrong.  It was an eye opening experience and I vowed that I would spend more time on to learn Twi.

Enter Youtube.  A quick YouTube search and video choices to learn Twi (pronounced ‘tchwee’) popped forth.  A reason to love YouTube!  Hubby watched the first video with me and he was pleasantly surprised when I had replied with Twi for ‘thank you’ before being told in the video what it was.  That much I had remembered from the training! 🙂

And so, I will work on my Twi a little bit everyday and in two weeks, who knows where I will be…hopefully at least at please, thank you and of course, have a nice day! 🙂

13 days,

Maureen

Leave a Reply

