My Leave for Change Adventure Begins!

I took the plunge and applied for a leave for change…something I had wanted to do for a couple of years.  This year, with some committments coming to a close it was time to send in the application (March 4) and cross my fingers.  Within a few weeks, I had my interview with NSCC (March 17), then an interview with Uniterra/CECI (March 31) and my participation was confirmed (April 6).  A little bit of waiting while the organization on the ground had a look at my application and last week (May 3) I received word that my placement was confirmed.  YAY!

And so the adventure begins,

…with…paperwork…

…application form online, personal information, passport scan, insurance applications, vaccination lists…oh and I need vaccination appointments…visa applications, and I am almost certain I have forgotten something from the list.  That’s OK, it’s why we write things down. 😉

For three weeks this July, I will use my vacation to work as a volunteer with GNECC in Accra Ghana.  Here is a link to GNECC so you can learn a little bit about what they do if you are interested: www.gnecc.org

At home in Canada, we are blessed with many things, one of which is the access to free, quality, basic education for all.  Another is toilets in our schools.  And, we should also remember, drinking water we can drink.  There are many things to be thankful for and today I am thankful for the opportunity to work as a volunteer for three weeks in another county to do maybe just a little, tiny bit to help them meet their goal, and make the world a better place.

Over the next while, I will blog about preparations, travel, and experience.  Please, join me as I travel, there is lot’s to see and learn.

Maureen

Leave a Reply

